This article explains the permission settings available for users of Wisenet SKY's Cloud VMS.
All features mentioned in this article may not be visible to all users and are based upon
the agreement with the Wisenet SKY provider.
Administrators and Users
If a user is an Admin of an account, all permissions are enabled: create, delete, edit, and view access to all accounts and user settings, bridges, cameras, layouts, audit log, and archive.
An admin of an account may be restricted to making only changes that do not affect
billing depending on the setup of the account. Settings that affect billing include:
adding bridges and cameras, changing camera resolution, changing retention of cameras
(how long footage is stored in the cloud), analytic features, and archive.
Please contact your Wisenet SKY provider in regard to these changes.
An administrator of the account sets the permissions of a user. The permissions can be set when first creating a user, or can be set later by going into the user settings.
Accounts and Users
Account settings allow users to edit and view Control, Days, Security, Camera, Alerts, Notifications, Privacy, Sharing, Responders, Default retentions, and camera resolution settings
Resolution and retention settings can be adjusted only if allowed by the
Wisenet SKY provider.
Wisenet SKY provides the functionality to share cameras with other users and first responders.
This permission grants the user the ability to manage other users on the account. This includes adjusting some permissions and granting access to cameras and layouts.
Bridges and Cameras
Admin of Bridges and Cameras
This permission allows a user to create, edit, and view bridges and cameras.
Again, the user may not be able to fully utilize this permission. Any action that
affects billing may be disabled by the reseller. In this case, the user will need to
contact their Wisenet SKY provider if they wish to make certain changes.
This permission allows the user to edit camera settings that don't affect billing. The user with this permission can change the name of the camera, time zone, login credentials, tags, and notes.
Changing the credentials of an online camera in the Wisenet SKY dashboard without
changing them in the camera itself will result in an offline camera.
Turn Cameras On and Off
The user will be able to turn off and on cameras.
Although the camera will not be powered down, a camera that is turned off will not
Edit Motion Areas and Analytics
A user will be able to edit and view motion under Camera Settings. They will also be able to control how sensitive the camera is to motion and the object detection size. They can also set up alerts for regions and edit/view Analytics.
Turning on Analytics will affect billing so this option may not be available.
Please contact your Wisenet SKY provider with questions about Analytics.
Edit PTZ Stations
The user will be able to edit PTZ (Pan Tilt Zoom) settings under the PTZ tab in Camera settings if there is a camera with this functionality. This includes creating, editing, and deleting stations.
Stations: The PTZ camera will move from one position (station) to another.
The user can manipulate the PTZ lense in the live view by clicking the white arrows in the top right corner of the live view.
The user with this permission will be able to create, delete, edit, and view any layouts made accessible to them.
Please see Creating and Editing Layouts for more information about Layouts.
In user settings, access can be given to certain layouts and cameras.
Admin users can see all layouts.
Create Layouts Only
The user will be able to create and edit layouts, but not edit layouts created by others
View and Download Video
One or more of these permissions must be enabled for the user to view any
The user will be able to save and download video at full-video resolution and preview video.
Please visit View and Download Historical Footage for more information.
View Live Video
The user can view full resolution video live.
View Recorded Video
The user can view the history browser and historical footage (recorded video).
The user will be able to view the video in preview format (Mjpeg).
Preview videos have lower resolution than full video.
The user will be able to delete, edit, and view files and folders in the Archive.
The user will be able to only view files and folders within the Archive
For more information on navigating the Archive, please visit Archiving in our